As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

(1)students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study.

(2)students must volunteer to work in the city where the university is located  or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town.

which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university. Why?

it is really important how we use our free time and make them useful for our life. Due to the fact that university years are time to flourish our talents, free times in these years come to count more than other years. some universities have policy that students should take some unrelated courses from their majors. other universities use another policy and students should get some volunteer works in their university or hometown. I personally believe that the second policy has more benefits for students and their town. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

For the first reason, I believe that if the students work in university years they can improve their social skills, and it is more beneficial for them compared to take some extra courses. many students have a lack of confidence, and they are introverted, so they are not good at communicating with others. it goes without saying, in any job, we should communicate with others. As a result, if these students do not practice and improve their social skills, they will have many problems in their future. this universities’ policy can has a huge impact on these students and increase their social abilities. From my perspective, taking unrelated courses has not many advantages; because, already students have many courses that are not useful for them and they will forget them in the future. so, I believe should students take unrelated courses in their free time, they waste their time.

For another noteworthy reason, students by working in their university and hometown can help others, and improve others’ quality of life. For instance, students can work in some volunteer organizations and cook food for homeless people or help and take care of old people in their city. In this way, not only students can improve their skills but also can help others and improve their quality of life.

To wrap it up, working in the break between university semesters has many advantages for students and other people. students can improve their social skills and it has many benefit for their future. also, students can improve other people life by helping them. Despite the fact that taking unrelated courses can has some benefits, I totally believe that working is more beneficial for all students.