Some people have ambitious dreams and keep following them, but other people always focus on realistic goals and try to achieve them. Which do you think is better?

Setting goals is an important aspect of any human being. In fact, humans should have some goals to make efforts to reach them. Because, any human life without a goal is meaningless. Some people prefer to set ambitious goals that really difficult and impossible to reach. Some people have the opposite view and believe it is better to set goals that they are reachable. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the second group and prefer to set goals that after some attempts I can achieve them. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

The first reason that I believe it is worth to mention is for realistic goals you can make a plan and daily schedule and step by step you can close to them. Planning is the first step for closing your goals and it makes you have a better vision of how you can achieve it and in each step what you should do to get closer to your goal. For instance, if your goal is having a healthier body, the first step to achieve your goal is changing your diet and decrease your junk foods, and then you can register in a gym and do exercise. So, after some months, if you stick to your plan, you will achieve your goal. On the contrary, it is really hard and impossible to plan for ambitious dreams and unrealistic goals. As a result, without a clear plan, it is impossible to reach them, and this is why I prefer to have realistic dreams.

For the next reason, people who have realistic goals have better mental health. As I mentioned before, ambitious and unrealistic goals are difficult to achieve. Since this fact, people with these goals failed most of the time. These continual failings make them lose their motivation, and they will feel depression and emptiness in their life. In contrast, people with realistic dreams achieve them regularly, and that feeling of success makes them have a happier life. Thus, by having realistic goals we can have better mental health too.

To wrap it up, having realistic dreams have many advantages and can impact on many aspects of our life. I prefer to have realistic goals because I can make plans for them and they are more reachable, and also by following my realistic goals, I will have a happier life. However, there are many people who have really unrealistic goals and by following them achieve much success, but I believe it is more logical and achievable to follow realistic goals.