As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break: 1、Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to

The university requires students to undertake one task for their long break. Students could choose from the two selections - taking a course on the subject which has no direct connection to their majors, or doing volunteer work in their hometown or the in city where the university is located. Some students may argue that the first option is better because it is an excellent opportunity to broaden their horizons. Nevertheless, from my perspective, students could benefit more from the second option.

On the one hand, volunteer work will help students gain a sense of belongingness and deepen the connections between students and the city where they are working. Considering the nature of volunteer work, which is assisting without charge and show love and care to other citizens, people who are benefiting from students' hard work will show their appreciation and thankfulness to students. For instance, students who work at shelters could make the lives of homeless people much more comfortable. Aside from that, other citizens will enjoy a cleaner, and a safer city with the number of homeless people decline. As a result, students will receive gratefulness for their hard work, which in turn strengthened the bond between students and that city

On the other hand, volunteering also creat opportunities for students to master professional knowledge that is highly associated with their major. As there are many different kinds of volunteer work, students can apply for these jobs that are highly relevant to their majors. For example, finance students could find a volunteer job such as assisting senior citizens in creating their account at a bank, where they could help and learn more about financial institutions at the same time.

Besides, taking a course which has nothing to do with students' major will likely to hinder the success of students' college lives. With limited time and money, students need to finger out what is the most efficient way to achieve their goal. Students generally will take all possible factors such as their interest, their financial conditions, as well as the pay off for different majors before making their decision on which major to they should take. Paying money to learn courses that are not helpful for their career is not rational, letting alone having a lousy grade which will affect their GPA. If students are eager to learn more, there are other methods such as watching videos online or read a book instead of taking a course.

In summary, taking volunteer jobs is more beneficial for students during a long break since students could not only gain a sense of belongingness of the city but also could practice their professional skills. Other than that, taking a course that is not a subject of their majors is not time-efficient as other ways could help students to learn about different fields as well.