As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break: 1、Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study ; 2、Students must volunteer to work in the university' s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why?

The past decade has witnessed tremendous advance of educational standard. It is reflected on not only new educational theories pop up but also increasing numbers of students crowd into universities. Accordingly, stress of both school and students rises. For schools, they begin to abandon the old-fashion educational mode force-feeding students, which is replaced by an overall mode. While students tend to seek and develop their potential beyond their majors. Therefore, some assert that students should take a course without direct connection to their majors. But I disagree. Personally, as a student myself I prefer to work in the city I live in.

Obviously, volunteering to work in the city enables students to learn knowledge that can not be obtained in schools. This knowledge given by practical manufacture or operation in a factory or company may make it possible for them to get accurate judgment, broad horizon and to better manage a real problem elaborately, which further help amend their plans of careers. As a result, they would get an ideal job and perform well in the future. Take my friend Monica, a sophomore in Shandong University of Technology, as an example. She once was assigned to be an assistant in a youth hostel, where she needed to communicate with all manner of customs. To be frank, Monica was so timid that hardly talked to any strangers before this voluntary activity. But now building confidence fortunately, she can convey her feelings bravely and listen to others patiently. She said to me that it is quite surprised that she has realized this potential.

Admittedly, some may assert that taking history at the long break has its merits. To be specific, not only could it avert students from repeating mistakes of past but also could evoke their deep thoughts on current social issues. For example, by getting to know the Second World War, students could deeply understand the importance of peace. Plausible as it sounds that all students should take that history course, the view in reality does not hold water. I appeal to other methods rather than history courses of getting the same effect. For instance, historical books, relevant seminars and documentaries are available options for students who strive to know about the evolution of whole human society. In this way, students immersed in their heavy work could also benefit from this readily. Besides if all students were going to take a history lesson, universities would be burdened by the financial difficulties let along such numbers of renowned professors unavailable.

Taking into account all the factors discussed above, I suppose working in the university' s city or their hometowns better.