As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break: 1、Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to

The university requires students to undertake one task for their long break. Students could choose from the two selections - taking a course on the subject which has no direct connection to their majors, or doing a volunteer work in their hometown or the in city where the university is located. Some students may argue that the first option is better becasue it is a great opportunity to broaden their horizen. Nevertheless, from my perspective, students could benefit more from the second option.

On the one hand, volunteer work will help students gain a sense of belongingness and deepen the connections between students and the city they are working at. Considering the natural of volunteer work, which is giving assistance without charge and show love and care to other citizens, people who are benefit from students' hard work will show their appriciation and thankness to students. For instance, students who work at shelters could make the lives of homeless people much easier. Aside from that, other citzens will enjoy a cleaner and a safer city with the number of homeless people declean. As a result, students will recive gratfulness from all these people. A understanding that it is them who made the city a better place will make students love the city even more.

On the other hand, volunteering also creat opportunites for students to master about professional knowledege that is highly associated with their major. As there are many different kinds of volunteer work, studends can apply for these that are connected with their majors. For example, finance students could find a volunteer job such as assisting senior citzens to creat their account at a bank, where they could help and learn more about financal institutions at the same time.

Besides, taking a course which has nothing to do with students' major will likely to hinder the success of students' college lives. With limitted time and money, students need to finger out what is the most efficient way to ahcieve their goal. Students generally will taken all possible factors such as their interest, their financial conditions, as well as the pay off for different majors before making their decision on which major to they should take. Paying extra money to learn courses that are not helpful for their career is not rational, letting alone a bad grade will affect their GPA. If students are eager to learn more, there are other method such as watching videos online or read a book instead of taking a course.

In summary, taking volunteer jobs is more benefical for students during a long break since students could not only gain a sense of belongingness of the city, but also could practice their professional skills. Other than that, taking a course that are not a subject of their majors is not time or financial efficient. There are other ways that could help students to learn about other fields.