Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

It is generally agreed that there are several sources from which young people learn. Personally, I am prone to believe that students are mostly influenced by their teachers rather than, for example, by their friends. I hold this opinion since teachers know more; they are used to methods of influence; and their main aim is to teach.

To begin with, teachers have a lot of knowledge and necessary skills. They are respected members of our societies to whom young people look at with respect and admiration since they are extremely qualified specialists. Moreover, their knowledge and skills make them role models for students. When I was a student, I was thinking that our professors are the smartest people in the world and I was trying to emulate them. Thus, knowledge and skills make teachers role models for their students.

Additionally, teachers know how to affect the behavior of young people. We should not forget that in order to become a teacher people study hard and many years. It is worth mentioning that in all countries their education implies knowing the foundations of psychology of young people without which they will not be able to take control over the class. Moreover, they learn teaching methodic - a body of knowledge about how to present the learning material and so on. My wife, for example, is a PhD student in a linguistic university and one of the mandatory courses she passes is Teaching Methodic. In her opinion, that course is vital for teachers since it explains how to affect young people's behavior and how to present the material to students. So, teachers learn how to influence students.

Finally, teachers' aim is to teach students, whereas, for example, friends need our communication, our attention and our friendship. They are not eager to influence us; they simply communicate with us. Meanwhile, people become teachers in order to teach other people which determines their efforts in terms of affecting our behavior. That is why teachers repeat the necessary ideas for several times or assign homeworks and other tasks. They are aimed at passing their knowledge and skills to us - a fact, which distinguishes our friends from our teachers.

To sum up briefly, we learn from both our teachers and friends. However, teachers influence us more since they are professionals, they know methods of influence and their primary function is to teach, or in other words, to influence us.