Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they already know how to do well.

Today we are living in a highly developed society, and in order to survive in this busy world, people pursue knowledge and skills to improve themselves and compete with each other. But whatever the circumstance is, there are always someone emerging from the general public and become an admirable winner. Personally speaking, I think there are two deciding factors in term of becoming successful. First, whether you like trying new things. Second, if you are willing to take the risk. I will elaborate my reasons in this essay.

To begin with, trying new things is very important for someone whose goal is being successful. Because such activity provides them with new knowledge and experience, which eventually help them to discover opportunity. Say if a student in 1980s just liked doing things he already knew, what would happen? He might miss the great fortune he would get if he tried to learn computers. Since it is known to all that computer is among a burgeoning new technology industry, if he seized the chance, he might have even become someone like Steve Jobs. But because of not trying something new, he lost the chance.

Secondly, risks often accompany unfamiliar things, if you are not brave enough to take the risk, you also lose the opportunity. For some people the reason why they constantly choose to stick to what they are already familiar with is the afraid of failure, which is also the reason why they aren't likely to become outstanding. Take those businessman as an example. Even though they know expanding business to new field brings risks of failure such as losing money, but they still do so, because what they see is not only risks but also the shiny opportunities.

In a nutshell, successful people dare to try new things and take risks, because news things give them new experience and knowledge, and in order to do the new things they have to and willing to take the risks.