In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that the Manson city government ought his duty by providing more fund to riverside recreational facility, but the author statement to get more fund is rife with hole and assumption. This is not strong enough to lead increasing funding towards river clean up project.

As per author statement, the water sports is the favorite activity of residents. May be the report of survey is not valid or may be out of scope. For example If the survey could ask from the residents if would like to see the water sports or the hydro electric dam on the river, then most of the residents would attract towards water sports. Another example if the survey conducted in vacation time then people having more time in vacation days but when vacation would get over they goes to their normal routines. The sample may not be the representative of city residents, it may involve only people who resides upon the river. The survey may be 10 pages long but questions relevant about water sports may be one or two. We just do not know. Unless the survey is not representative, valid and reliable it cannot use effectively to support the author statement.

In addition author mentioned about the various complaints from residents about the quality of water and river's smell, but still here it doesn't clear that the complaints are from wide area of residents or two or three people are doing complaints multiple times. To strengthen author argument, it would be benefit from implementing a survey which include wide range of residents and ask from them why they are not using river.

Building upon implication that residents do not use river for swimming and boating, despite their professed interest, because the water is polluted and smelly, the author suggest the clean up of river will increase the usage of river. If the water quality and the smell is a problem due to extract of pollution of nearby factories or any other human activity then it would be remedied. But if the quality and aroma is the result of natural mineral deposit or surrounding rocks, it may not be true. for example there is some body of water which emit smells of sulfur due to geography of area. Consequently, a river clean up may not impact on river usage. Author may not able to make the connection between the water quality and usage of river.

At last I would like to conclude that a clean and beautiful river off course attract more people towards it and increase the tourism which would be beneficial to government as well as residents. For this reason city government may invest more money to improve the riverside recreational activities. However, author argument is not likely significant to persuade the city government to allocate more fund.