Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

This is the contentious statement that employer should solicit the personal information of their perspective employee i.e hobbies, marital status, et cetera has sparked a heated debate among many. I will illustrate the pros and cons of the statement and at last, will provide my view.

To start with, the employer asking the personal information for job seekers in their application to gauge the potential hire's best fit for the particular vacancy. For instance, if a particular position required a lot of travelling in multiple metropolitan cities of the world, then it will be difficult to a married employee, as he/she has to fulfil his/her marital commitments. In addition, the hobbies of a person can reflect their area of work interest. The employer used the information, regarding hobbies, to increase the rate of retention of their employ. For example, a financial analyst, who is fond of latest technology eagerly wishes to work with high tech corporation rather than the employee who despises the latest technology.

On the other hand, there are some cons to ask the personal information from the potential. For example, sometimes employer inadvertently lose the best-qualified candidate as they have the concern to share their personal information with anyone. Moreover, personal information may create the discrepancy situation in process of hiring. let say if the interviewer despises the cricket, then he may not consider the individual who is having the passion for cricket.

Having considered a range of the argument, I firmly believe the merit of the organization seeking personal information from the candidate is overweighed the drawback. By getting personal information they can choose the best fit for a particular job position and it can help an organization to increase their rate of retention of current employees.