is taking a lot of time making an important decision a good guality or a bad one

While many may argue that a timely and fast decision is inclined to result in better outcomes collectively, opponents might claim that analyzing every aspect of a decision for a long period is the more cautious and subsequently, the more successful path. I, however, agree with the former, and I believe that an effective decision must be on time as well as accurate to serve its purpose adequately. I will elaborate further as follows.

First, time is a valuable gem in the possession of everyone equally. However, people employ different approaches regarding the use of this precious resource. In my opinion, delays in making important decisions not only harm a person regarding the potential risk of losing their opportunities, but they can also cause the loss of an essential amenity; time. Additionally, I believe the waste of time is a greater loss than making the wrong decision, in many cases. There can be no wrong pathways, and even those that may seem faulty can provide numerous beneficial life lessons. For instance, my brother was offered a job as a remote translator while he was a student in college. He spent so much time thinking over the situation that the company drew back its offer. Thus, he lost a lot of time, and he missed the chance to perform a job that he might have liked. Even if the occupation proved not to be advantageous, it would be little to no harm to him.

Secondly, when an individual spends too much time meandering a decision, their mind becomes biased and the final result would not probably be different from their first estimation. The human brain has the quality of favoring its own estimates and noticing aspects of a situation that confirm the mind's initial speculation. Additionally, the mind ignores the facts that point to a contradiction to the already formed estimation of the brain. Thus, taking a lot of time to make a significant decision does not alter the final outcome in most cases. Referring to the example of my brother, although he was later aware of the benifits of the aforementioned job, such as taking part in international conferences, he continued to rationalize his own notions regarding the drawbacks of the position.

In conclusion, I believe the ability to make timely decisions should be appreciated in people since these individuals waste less time, a valuable resource, they seize opportunities, and also, the extra time spent on making a decision is not likely to change the terminal outcome.