A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Some people believe that a teacher's ability to teach excellent knowledge of the subject is the most important part of teaching. However, in my opinion, I disagree and think that a teacher's ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. I present two reasons for my thinking.

First of all, if a teacher can relate well with students then he can understand what the student needs for improvement. Many teachers nowadays teach big concepts like Organic Chemistry, Machine Learning, Quantum mechanics and many more without knowing if the student is able to understand it or not. Most of the time, students are just stuck on a simple problem which they can not understand just because the teacher does not have time for silly questions. However, there should be a strong basic knowledge of the subject before advanced topics are taught. For example, In my undergrad, there was a weak student named Nikhil, he was studying advanced computer science subjects like Natural Language Processing but he was very weak at Data Structure and Algorithms. After failing a midterm exam, he contacted the professor for help and just after several months of one on one extra classes, he was doing great in Natural Language Processing. Understanding what a student is going through is an essential part of the teaching and can truly unlock the student's potential. Thus, teacher's ability to understand the situation is important.

Secondly, students often admire the teacher's who understand them and try to imitate them. If a teacher is helping the students to overcome any situation like problems in academics or personal, then students often admire that teacher and try to take interest in the teacher's subject. This interest can sometimes grow into something important like becoming interested in the research that the teacher is doing. For example, In my undergrad, I was struggling with the Soft Computing Techniques, a subject offered in my program. After some tries I contacted my teacher, Dr Amit Kumar Prasad who helped me with the subject. Now, I have gained so much interest in Soft Computing that I published a research paper under Dr. Amit Kumar. Thus, teachers' ability to relate can sometimes be beneficial for both students and teachers.

In conclusion, there may be some students who don't need teachers to understand the subject, but for the majority of the students this is not the case. Thus, the teacher's ability to understand what students need is more important than teaching excellent concepts.