Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Teachers are a group of intellectual individuals who transfer knowledge to the next generations. There is no shortage of opinions on the topic of teachers being highly appreciated and valued in the past compared to the current situations. If I were forced to choose, I would agree with this statement without a doubt. I feel this way for a few main reasons which I would explore in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the number of qualified teachers available in the past is significantly lesser than these days. According to the past era, only those who are obtaining strong recommendation letters with high academic grades could get the opportunity to become a teacher. Hence, it was a great challenge to get the qualifications without significant potential in your particular field of expertise. And it was extremely rare to find a teacher in the past and students would rather pay a high price of tuition fee in order to get educated. In contrast, in the academic world today, some individuals happened to obtain any degree without any great effort by paying for the doctoral degree. As a result, there are countless teachers around us. It is certainly clear that the teachers in the past were mostly appreciated due to the rare count.

Secondly, the world has evolved into a very high-tech society with the great influence of the internet. The internet consists of various information and obtains greater intelligence than what teachers have today. Instead of taking classes from the teacher’s lecture, people could just press the search button on Google search to acquire whatever they are willing to learn. Hence, due to the existence of the more convenient internet searching ability, students would rather study alone without being taught by teachers. Drawing from my own experience, the lectures available in a physics class are quite restricted to the brief concept of the theory but the more detailed information was usually left out due to the time limit in class. Besides, sometimes teachers would not be able to answer your answers immediately as they might not know the answers too. As a result, we would just solve this problem by browsing the internet which contains an abundance of research papers available online to conserve time. Thus, surfing the internet might be more useful than the teachers’ assistance in academics.

In light of the above-mentioned, I strongly believe that teachers nowadays are not cherished as much as before because of the great number of teachers available and the profound influence of the internet.