Technology made the children today less creative than other kids long time ago

It is a highly debated issue whether or not technology has made children less creative than they were in the past, and this topic can be approached from several angles due to its complexity. Some parents feel that today’s technology is helping their kids to be more creative. They say that some applications on IPad as example, show their kids different ways on drawing or painting. I understand this point of view, but I have a different opinion. I believe that today’s technology has affected negatively on the creativity of our children and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, nowadays, our kids completely depend on technology to solve their problems. This affects directly on their imaginations and creativity. For example, my ten years daughter had a presentation last month, about one kind of animal that live in the forest. The teacher asked them to be creative and build a simple forest structure with the presentation. I offered my daughter a help, but she preferred to do it in her way. At the beginning, I was amazed by the shape of the structure that she built, I felt it was a unique one. When I attended the presentation, I was shocked. All the student in the classroom, has almost the same structure and presentation. I found that, all of them used the same web page who taught them how to build and make a presentation about a forest for a 4th grade class. The technology destroyed our kids’ creativity because they rely on it instead of relying on their imaginations and their brains.

Second, today’s technology offers a lot of entertainment for our kids, that’s make them feel they don’t need to be creative anymore. For instance, when I was a kid, I used to do pretend play most of my time. We used to have less games’ options or even less entertaining things comparing to kids today. When we used to pretend, we used our imagination and creativity to make regular things as a super fun ones. I remember that I used to have a big empty box. I made a house with it, I made windows, a door, and even a roof in it. It was a big fun and a very unique one at the same time. If I gave same box to my daughter today, she won’t enjoy playing with it. Even I believe she won’t be interesting to try do anything with it. All she want to do is to play with her Ipad or her PlayStation.

In conclusion, I believe that technology affected negatively on our kids because they rely on it to solve their problems and because it keeps them busy and happy without the needs for being creative, to get that feeling.