Telephone has greater effect on people’s lives than television has

Nowadays, we have entered a brand-new era and thanks to the development of the media, there are always different opinions towards the same issue. Recently, an increasin gnumber of people are concerned about the debate on whether the telephone has greater effect on modern people’s lives comparing to televisions. Some argue that television are more effective since they enables people relax and watch different kinds of programs. From my personl perspective, I shall lay my preference of standpoint on that telephone has played a more important role in our lifes than televisions does because of the following reasons.

Firstly, telephone makes life more convenient and colorful. There is no doubt that telephone has made it possible for people to connect with each other despite of the limitation of the long distance. To start with, telephone can inform people when some emergency issues happen, and in some occasions it may save people’s life. For example, a girl who is in danger can make a phone call to her parents for help because it is fast and effective enough, so that the girl’s parents would get informed quickly. What’s more, telephone can also make it easy for those who are in a foreign country to keep in touch with their families. For instance, I went to Japan as an exchange student last year. When I missed my families so much, I would call my parents and talk with them, which is helpful to comfort my home-sick. By talking on the telephone, we got to know how things were going on, and my parents would be less worried about me.

What’s more, the use of telephone also makes work more effective and faster. In the past, before the telephone was invented, people had to use paper to write files, such as work plans and work summaries. However, thanks to the invention of telephone, people are able to text massages with each other, which is a more time-saving and convenient way to work. The reason is that we use much less time to type than to write things by hand. For example, it may take me 1 hour or so to write a work summary by hand, while if I text it, 20 minutes would be enough. Thus, by using telephone, time used on writing files would be saved. Also, work collegues can use telephone to connect with each other effectively, such as making a decision on the work division, even if somebody is on a business trip, he may also get to know how is it going in the company by talking to his colleage through the telephone.

Admittedly, it is always safe to say that television enables people to watch different kinds of programs, which are interesting and relaxing. However, there are some game apps on the telephone, which are interesting as well. In other words, people can also relax by playing telephone games since television isn’t the only method for people to enjoy their lives.

Above all, after analyzing all the pros and cons from different aspects, we may now, can reach the conclusion confidently that, the telephones has greater effect on modern people’s lives comparing to the television bacause it is more helpful in terms of both daily life and work.