televisons and movies young people's behaviors

Mass media, like movies and televisions, can be very influential to massive population as it widely spreads a wide variety of information to all kinds of people every single day. There is no doubt that it has been affecting young people’s behaviors. Take two main factors into consideration, I certainly agree that it causes more negative than proactive effects.

To start with, daily life activities of recreation altered in an unhealthy way by the occurrence of movies and televisions. Before we have these technologies, young people were more likely to go out playing with friends and having different activities, such as hiking, play sports or games. I remember when I was a little girl, my family and I usually sleep very early as well. I never felt lacking of sleep. However, after my father bought the first television, which became my favorite playmate immediately, I couldn’t wait for every evening when I could watch all kinds of interesting programs, actually most of them were just soap operas. I couldn't move to do anything else but got glued with the screen every night. Consequently, I started to sleep less and less and my eye vision started to get worse and worse too.

Secondly, more and more premature phenomenon and crimes result from too much exposure to movies and televisions. What we have been watching on screens are not always what really fit us ages and situations. While this powerful media could present all kinds of people and events in front of all people no matter the audience has good judgement about it or not, because media always would try all the means to increase the audience rating. Those roles and events on the screens, especially violent acts or bad habits, such as, smoking, getting hair colored, even crimes, like get addicted to drugs, killing people. These are just few examples, but many young people do imitate those behaviors in the real world. No wonder we have been witnessing more premature students in school, more conflicts and crimes in society.

Admittedly, there are many good aspects we can be truly benefit from, such as, different cultures, knowledge and important news. We can be feel really relaxed and get into these entertainments. But comparing to the negative effects which widely happened to almost every person in varying degrees, I totally agree with this statement that it’s harmful effects outweigh the beneficial ones.