People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment

I certainly disagree with the statement that people are obsessed with their own entertainments, instead of focusing on things they should do. Because the burden or responsibilities on people's shoulders are not less than the past at all, even though our society provides us with far more choices on leisure activities than before. If we look carefully, we could easily notice that most people have to even sacrifice some of their personal time to get more work done.

First, this statement above is not true for today’s children in China. 20 years ago when I was a child, we spent a lot of time playing around with other kids. Besides, teachers and parents didn’t tend to put a lot of pressure on us. On the contrary, students are really involved in all kinds of classes nowadays, remedial classes, like English and Math; and interest classes, such as dancing, drawing, piano etc. In the meantime, they have heavy homework waiting for them. My cousins who have kids are always complaining that how much time they need to spend on homework with their kids.

Second, spending too much time on individual enjoyment is not true for adults either as far as I am concerned. We live in a highly competitive world. In order to get a proper position after graduating, we have to study hard at universities. Getting a good job is not the end but a new start. We have to work hard to maintain the position because knowledge we have learned in school is not enough for us to succeed in our professions. Time needed to be spent on technics and skills when it comes to different kinds of relationships. So, I really don't see there are much time left for young adults to spend on recreations.

Actually, it’s not something we should blame too much that even people sometimes do spend their time on relaxing a lot. Because it’s a necessary way to get our mental and physical health in a good state for better study and work. And usually it works well for us as we get the energy back up after enjoying ourselves.

In conclusion, based on the situation I saw on children and adults, people certainly are not spending too much time on their own enjoyment and they really are taking their responsibilities in life.