Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea

Every good parent has specialty, but also share precious qualities in common. Among these numerous good qualities, like role model, diligence, independence, responsibility, patience, love, understanding, I believe that all good parents are loving, patient and understanding.

Patience is of paramount importance, especially when children are babies and also in their childhood. It is a crucial characteristic because they need most attention and care during this period. For example, children are very curious about almost everything around them and play with all kinds of stuff or ask tremendous questions. In these circumstances, parents should not ignore their children, instead, go along with children, discuss with them and play with them or give them space to enjoy by themselves, and more importantly, don’t get bothered or angry.

The second key quality, understanding, which is probably more difficult to cultivate/develop, because understanding requires experience and empathy. If we can, as adults, shift our perspective to the angle of the child, we can be easier to understand them. Something we consider foolish or childish, but look at them from the point of the child, it may fun and enjoyable. For example, one of my cousin’s 5 years old son, liked to play with the kitchenware, like pot, spoon, and brought them out to everywhere he wanted. At first sight of this, I thought what he is doing, please stop! However, then I realized that they are attractive to him like special toys to play with too! For a child, it is something unknown and need to explore. So, it’ necessary to understand them and not be angry or impatient.

The last but not least, love. Love is indispensable and fundamental because it motivates to be understanding, patient and all the other good qualities of parents. Love wakes up parents’ responsibility to provide the best for their children, no matter it’s living environment, study environment or numerous other things. Love makes parents sacrifice their work time to be companion for children as more as possible. Love can teach their children how to love others.

Except the main qualities I believe as above, there are many more to name. To be a good parent, we also need to reflect ourselves once in a while, to ensure that we are developing these great characteristics.