In times of an economic crisis, in which area should governments reduce its spending?

Arts, Scientific research, parks and public gardens.

Some people think that in times of an economic crisis, governments have to reduce spending money on arts and making parks or public gardens. However, I disagree with the idea that the government should spend less money on arts and making parks for the following two reasons. First, governments do not have to spend a lot of money on supporting scientific research. Also, parks and gardens help to increase the economy of local communities. Lastly, the arts can make people reduce stress.

First of all, governments are not responsible for supporting scientific research. To be specific, scientific research is already well supported by other places such as universities and private companies. Thus, governments don’t need to be an additional supporter especially if it has no practical use. Let me bring up my personal story as an example. I work as an engineer at a large corporation in Korea. My job is to come up with innovative ideas and create products to release in the future. Many of my ideas and sample products will never be released, but I continue to research because I’m getting paid for it by the company. Once they decide on a product and start selling it they will make a lot of money so they don’t worry about investments. Hence, there is absolutely no need for extra funding from the government for my research.

Second, parks help the economy of local communities improve. What this means is that making parks is helpful for the environment, and cleaner environments can be beneficial for agriculture, fishing and even tourism. Let me bring my town’s story as an example. I live in a small town near a big city. We usually depended on tourism. However, because of the air pollution from the city, tourists did not visit my town, which made us be more difficult economically. Also, people tended to move to the big city because there were not many jobs in the town. One day, people in our town council started to make parks and gardens. Within a year, our town became very clean and this brought many tourists. This created new jobs, which boosted the economy of the town.

Lastly, the arts make people work more efficiently by reducing stress. This is because people today are under a lot of stress and pressure due to this competitiveness of today’s society. By doing art activities, people can forget about their stress and be refreshed, which helps people do their work more efficiently. Also, working more efficiently, the economy gets better. According to a study done by JYP university, people who work after doing art activities can produce items 80% per hour more than people who just focus on working. Also, according to another study, if people can produce more items, the economy of a country will increase due to increasing trades. This clearly shows that the arts help people to relieve their stress, which is helpful for the economy.

In conclusion, arts can reduce stress and parks improve the economy of local communities. Also, scientific research is already supported financially. In this regard, I strongly insist that governments have to spend less money on scientific research than arts and parks.