TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends constitute important parts of our lives. In many cases we may feel closer to our friends than even our family members. I believe keeping our old friends and making new friends are both essentially important and nobody has to decide between them. However, I think keeping touch with old friends can be a little more rewarding. I am sure a lot of people follow the same idea. I have two main reasons for my opinion.

Firstly, an old friend always makes you feel more comfortable. Old friends know you better and therefore knows how to help you out in tough situations. In regard to problems and life difficulties in the presence of old friends you are featured with a lot of solutions, support and pity. Coming over these tough situations life becomes more comfortable and the old friends appear more valuable. For example, I remember when I was a student in Tehran and I was far from home. One day that I caught a terrible cold that I could not even go out of my room. My roommate which we have been friends together since the high school took care of me meticulously. We had very nice moments together and I hardly missed home and I sometimes made new friends but most of them remained as only ordinary friends, you know not close friends and barely felt fully trusted or supported by them. As you can see old friends can really make our life more comfortable and full of intimacy.

Secondly, some may oppose it by I still support the fact that old friends are making our life more interesting or in other words sweeter. It is a lot more likely that your new friends bring you up with many new interesting experiences but what I try to state here is just something more than being new. It is old but sweet old. I mean sharing many pleasant events with your true and old friends is somehow like an invisible tool that is attached to your friends and each time you see them, spontaneously evokes those good memories and makes you feel happy. For instance, when we were students we would go out together every weekends. We had hundreds of great moments and experiences and would love to review them sometimes. Even now years from graduation I feel a deep happiness each time I see this friend. Having the experience of this friendship taught me that it makes much more sense to keep in touch with your especial old friends.

In sum, though some may oppose the idea of keeping old friends are somehow more important and Inevitably making new friends would be full of joy and exciting. But I really believe that they are not attached exactly by the same importance. Not only old friends make your life more comfortable and peaceful, but also keeping them means keeping yourself happier.

I came to the conclusion that everyone may want to make new friends to have new perspectives however only a few of them after a long time turn to be a true old friend and they had better keep in touch with these friends or they will lose a truly valuable thing in their life.