TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today's most common mode of transportation used by people are cars but this trend is not likely to continue. There is a high chance that the number of cars will reduce in the future because of the reason explained below.

The oil prices are rising daily. The price we pay today is almost triple that of the price we paid 10 years before. This trend is likely to continue as the number of oil reserves are decreasing. In addition to that, the population of the world is also increasing which resulted in an increased consumption. So, the prices of oil will increase in the coming years. The search for alternate energy source like electric power is not practically viable in large scale. They have difficulty in storing power and the cars made using them is too costly for common man. So, There is high chance that people will not able to afford a car in the future as there is not point in buying cars as the fuel is too costly to use.

In addition to that, the people around world are getting concerned over the air pollution and its effect of global warming. The smoke from cars have a great role in the increase in the green house gases. So in future there is high chance that the government is likely to restrict the use of cars in the future in order to save the environment. Further, the people are becoming environmentally conscious day by day and there will increase in concern of nature in the future. The people are more likely to depend on the public transport and green solutions like bicycles. We can see this trend in the most of the developed countries where there is an increase in the use of bicycles.

Furthermore, Now a days people are more living in the urban areas close to their work place. In addition to that, the use of robotics and internet have reduced the need for human presence at work. In addition to that online learning technology will reduce the need to go to school. Which all will result in decrease the need for travelling in the future and which will likely result in the reduced number of cars in the future.

So, due to above reasons we can conclude that there will less number of cars in the future.