TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement, It is more important to learn concept and ideas than facts. The facts are easily store in computer we can look it up whenever necessary but understanding ideas are difficult it involve a lot of study and practice. It is idea that create more ideas and inventions. So, students should spend more time studying concepts and ideas rather than facts.

The facts can easily be recorded in a storing media like a computer but you cannot always store an idea. Ideas may not be always have a concrete form it may like intuition and it may depend on the problem at hand. For example, an idea is like a method to solve mathematical problem you cannot make computer store a fixed set of rules to solve a problem. The solution to a problem vary depending on problem you cannot make computer to solve mathematical problem. A student must solve it based on his ideas and concepts known to him. Further, We can always create facts from an idea. For instance, ten plus two is twelve which is fact but student doesn't need to remember it he just need to understand concept of addition he can find the solution of addition on his own. So, it is important to understand ideas and concepts than fact.

In addition to that, understanding ideas is more fruitful than understanding facts as we can always find application of ideas. It ideas that is forerunners to inventions because ideas raise questions and doubts which we will result in new ideas and applications. For example, it is idea that electricity can produce light that made Edison to try out many materials to invent bulb similarly it is ideas that result in algorithms using which software is made. Facts like we learn in history and all cannot make an invention and contribute to humanity's progress.

So we say that a student should focus on studying ideas and concept. It is only through understanding old and creating new ideas human race can progress.