TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Yesterday, owning a car was a prestige and status, today it is our necessity and for tomorrow, we are not certain what would be the situation about the use of cars. But looking at certain issues posed by the excessive use of cars like rising cost of automobiles, traffic and parking problems, shortage of fuel resources and air pollution, we can assume that there will be fewer cars on the roads in the next twenty years.

First, we can’t deny the importance of cars in today’s fast routine. Today, cars are very important in our daily life to reach to our destinations with the comfort. People travel a lot on weekends and holidays with their friends and family members. But, as today there are excessive automobiles on the roads, it brings serious traffic jam problems, so people spend lots of time on roads and may reach late at their destinations. A parking problem is also a major issue for any city planning authority nowadays. Moreover, costs of cars, repairing, maintenance and insurance of automobiles are not affordable by many families in the world. Hence, because of all these problems, people may think to use public transportation instead using their own cars.

Second, because of excessive use of automobiles right now, natural resources for gas and gasoline are consumed at a very fast rate, so in future,we may have potential energy crises in the world and scientists are working on renewable resources of automobile energy. Moreover, auto emissions are responsible for air pollution and global warming. Today, serious chronic respiratory problems like asthma and lung cancers have been increased suddenly. In these circumstances, it is wise to decrease the use of cars in our daily life.

Third, since the public transportation has improved, it is convenient to commute by an AC transit bus or a subway. Public transportation in the United States is a crucial part of the solution to the nation’s economic, energy, and environmental challenges - helping to bring a better quality of life. In increasing numbers, people are using public transportation and local communities are expanding public transit services. Every segment of American society - individuals, families, communities, and businesses - benefits from public transportation. .Public transportation, while maybe not as enjoyable as commuting in your own personal vehicle, does ease congestion, reduce emissions, and give you plenty of quality time to people watch, as well as get to know your "neighbors." In addition, public transportation allows you to relax, read or nap during that commute instead of fighting and stressing and feeling the road rage.

To sum up, although cars have served as comfortable and safe vehicles in our life, but overuse of cars have created certain above- mentioned problems, and hence as a part of its solution, plus an availability of the better public transport facilities, we may see fewer cars on the roads in the next twenty years.