TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the school, students use different methods in order to memorize the new information. Personally, I agree with the statement that understanding the concepts is much better than just learning the information as a fact. I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, Students have multiple subjects at the school, and if they try to memorize all these information, for sure, it would be difficult for them to do that. Moreover, they will get boor easily. learning through making examples and applying the knowledge in the real life, will make it tmore easier for the pupil to understand the subject and thus, they can remember it faster. For instance, my younger brother who studied in fourth grade in primary school had some difficulties with mathematics.so, my mother asked me to help him. The main topic which was hard for him is the fractions. Because he knows as a fact that 2 is smaller than 4, it was difficult for him to believe that 1/2 is larger than 1/4. Actually, it took a long time to make him understand the concept. I used an apple to show that how to add and subtract the fracture because I used to believe that real life example helps in the explanation of the concepts in an understandable way. in the end, he was able to solve all the mathematical problems in a correct manner.

Second, people who understand the concepts are more confident and likely to earn a higher grade in the exams, and so, they can secure their position in one of the reputable academic institutions, this reality has been proved in many researches. People who depend on saving the fact without trying to get the points behind this fact, usually, tend to forget it after a while. even if they still remember the original information; if the teacher changes the question in the exam and make it indirect, those pupils who just memorize the facts will be unable to answer these kinds of questions. For example, last year, I was studying philosophy at the University of Khartoum, a lot of the philosophers' theories looked unrealistic to me, so, I was not able to understand them. Thus by the end, I decided to memorize them for the exam. But, unfortunately, the doctor asks us to write situations from our personal life that fit the meaning of some of the theories. That made me really frustrated because I did not understand most of them. consequently, I failed the exam. This emphasizes the importance of the understanding over memorization.

In conclusion, many factors make the understanding is the best way of learning, which play a crucial role in determining the students' career in the future.