TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people may state the facts are more important as they reflect the reality. However, I think that understanding ideas and concepts is more significant for students, not matter studying science like math or studying literature.

To begin with, understanding the concepts is of vital importance for math students. In fact, the crucial part of math is to abstract the concepts from the facts. For example, we can find that a smart, little boy still could master the math while he has few practices. The possible reason is that this intelligent boy could understand the concepts and the connection between them easily. While the facts like how these ideas and concepts reflect the reality has little help to him. Thus, standing on the previous concepts and ideas, he can generate his own, brand-new ideas then. In this case, the facts are just the bridge for math students to get to the final aimed place. What they need to achieve is the concepts.

Meanwhile, except math or other scientific subjects, literature also require students to learn enough ideas and concepts, and just then they can be called "professional". Take studying how to write as an example. Many people have the ability to appreciate wonderful articles. On the other hand, even if they read a lot, most of them may still couldn't write such beautiful articles like a writer. It is not so hard to imagine the reason why they cannot write is that they lack specific knowledge about how to write. Maybe the facts always enough, but the writing concepts haven't been mastered by the usual people. As this example aptly illustrates, students whose major is literature have to learn adequate ideas and concepts in those areas, though the facts are easy to get. Understanding ideas and concepts is their major work.

In conclusion, understanding ideas and concepts is more important for students than learning facts. Mastering of facts is hard to determine the academic level of both math students and literature students, while mastering of ideas and concepts could.