TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, people have been concerned about their children education. They have been seeking a way in which their children receive an appropriate education. By the advent of technology, this pervasive anxiety has been culminated owing to the fact that things get more complicated and life has changed a lot and it becomes harder to seek our purposes. In this regard, there is a controversial contention amongst people that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Personally speaking, I am in favor of this approach. I assert my viewpoint for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first aspect to be mentioned is the importance of understanding ideas and concept in order to thrive our creativity. To be more specific, comprehending ideas and concepts leads to the construction of the creative mind. When one comprehends the ideas and concepts corresponding to a specific issue, he is able to assess that issue from different angles and he may be able to generate new ideas about that issue. To put this in a more vivid picture, take a high school student as an example, if he was taught only the fact, he would not be able to put those facts in practice and he is not able to evaluate those facts from a different facet due to the fact that he may not be able to understand the ideas and concepts behind that fact. On the other hand, if he was taught to understand the ideas and concepts, that would provide him an opportunity in which he can thrive his creativity and put them in experience.

Apart from the point discussed above, let evaluate this statement from the standpoint of being efficient. When a student tries to understand the ideas and concepts of a fact, he is achieving a treasure calls deep understanding. In other words, by understanding the ideas and concepts of a fact, the process of learning is more yielding. On the other hand, learning facts are not efficient and they will easily be forgotten owing to the fact that unlike ideas and facts, they were not able to find their way in long-term memory of a student To convey my notion, take the result of a research as a convincing reason. Researchers have been shown that by understanding the concepts and ideas of different issues, students are able to recall that specific issue for after a long time. In contrast, if students just learn facts, it is more promising that they would forget them as soon as the semester overs.

All in all, according to the aforementioned points and examples, the importance of understanding ideas and facts has been settled. However, there is an opposing viewpoint that it is more important for student to learn facts than it is for them to understand ideas and facts but from the standpoint of not only the importance of creativity but the importance of the ability to depict the knowledge on students memories, I am willing to conclude that it is more important for student to understand ideas and concepts of issues than it is for them to learn facts.