TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people would argue that the new technological advancements have made young one’s more smart than they were in the past. However, I disagree to this by claiming that nowadays children are less creative and immersed in their work as they were in the past which is elaborated in the following paragraphs.

Nowadays children spend majority of their time using television consoles and video games. They enjoy watching cartoon channels telecasted on television than going out to play with friends. In addition, there are a lot of video games which are very addictive. In the past the children would often go out to play outdoor games with friends. This will eventually enable them to develop social skills and conversational skills.

Secondly, the technology has made everything achievable at one’s finger tips. For instance, recent advances in the online food ordering services have made anything available at any time. Therefore the combined effect of television and fast food has made children more prone to obesity due to their sedentary lifestyle. As a result, there are a lot of children suffering from childhood diabetes. Traditionally, the children were not attached to video games, instead they would go out side have meetups. As a result, they have more opportunities to connect with their peers due to the lack of other entertainment options. This enhanced their mental as well as physical development of children.

Furthermore, today internet provides an overwhelming amount of information to kids that they may end up confused. Besides, they may not always be able to differentiate between right and wrong. They may not have enough knowledge to decide the right option for them and this would increase the chances of children to use inappropriate websites for their age. This can negatively impact the life of teenagers. In the past there was limited access to adult content. However, the present generation has abundant sources of websites available and their parents are often unaware of what the child is up to. It is always children the easy prey and unknowingly they fall into bad hands.

To conclude, technology has made life easy and comfortable to all of us. Yet, the children need to use it prudently or else they might have to suffer its inadvertent effects. Parents should monitor their child’s activities and make sure that they use their resources properly.