TPO 11 – task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people say that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think that access to much information creates problems.

That the internet comprises a major part of our life is an undeniable fact. Today's life without the internet is very difficult to imagine. Thanks to the fast-lightening pace of the internet and the computers, almost everything nowadays is done in an entirely new way. Although some people agree that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information, some others disagree. From my perspective, I agree with the statement and here are my justifications.

To begin with, the internet assists the students in their studying significantly. A considerable amount of information is available for students on the internet, which can be used very fast and efficient. By holding a tablet or a phone, the whole world is at their fingertips. For example, the students can read books online using Google Books or use online encyclopedias for basic information about a topic. Owing to the internet, the students, instead of going to the libraries and searching for a specific book for hours, can find it readily using the internet and the computers. To be more impartial, some persons may assert that access to much information may confuse the students. The students might be overwhelmed; hence, they might have serious problems in decision-making during their research.

Beside the above-mentioned reason, the internet is beneficial for industries and research institutes offering them innovative and facile ways for doing their research, communicating with others, and expanding their market. With the advent of internet, information is more available for the researchers. Moreover, the managers can communicate with their employees and their customers more efficiently. Instead of traveling a large distance to attend a meeting, they can conduct online conferences using social networks such as the Skype. What's more, businesspersons can expand their market by advertisements on the internet. With the aid of internet, companies can introduce their products and the society will be more informed of the new-brand products. This would be useful for both the companies and the customers.

Finally, E-commerce and online shopping is another advantage of internet. People can search for their favorite product on the internet, check and compare the prices, receive feedback from other customers about the products, and buy the product conveniently. In order not to overgeneralize what was alluded to, E-commerce might make youngsters more demanding and lead to an extravagant lifestyle; however, its trivial drawback can be overlooked by its substantial advantages.

All in all, although some sophisticated people may prove the otherwise, I still agree that internet provides individuals with countless valuable information. Taking a meticulous observation on the mass of evidences, one can perceive that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.