TPO 13- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The process of urbanization has changed and affected the family forms from extended to nuclear families. In facts, the concept of having a big family has weakened among people. As a matter of fact, because more and more people tend to change their social and financial status, the family forms have unavoidably changed in the recent years. When it comes to the importance of the extended family, controversy surrounds the issue of whether there is a decline or not? And what factors cause to this change? I am of the opinion that people today have no faith on living in the extended family, and the following explanations will further elaborate on this matter.

One of the most significant aspects of the ongoing discussion which needs to be reflected is that people, today, are financially independent and there is no more need to the support of the extended family to survive. In fact, our world changes rapidly, and technological advances make our life more diverse than ever before. In this regard, there are many new filed or careers to continue in comparison to before. Hence, people have a tendency to work in different sectors than working in what their family provides. To illustrate, perhaps my personal experience can shed more light on this matter. My father and all his brothers had to work on their family farm to raise money for their future; even they need their family support for their marriage. However, I live in a distant place from my parent's house because I found a well-paid job which is entirely related to my expertise. The main reason is related to the enormous growth in the job market in comparison to the past.

Another remarkable aspect of the topic which demands a keen contemplation is that as people are always searching for better opportunities and comfortable life, they move to other cities or migrate to developed countries. In essence, people move to the cities for better job positions that in turn separate family members geographically. Moreover, the high pace of modern life and great stress of work life virtually have made people further away to each other. Take my friend’s mother for instance. She moved to our country to improve her social and financial status. Thanks to this decision she met her perfect match in the workplace and then got married.

Paradoxically, some people believe that a family is a place where you can gain real love no matter who you are and what you have achieved. It is like a harbor where you can throw your modern life out and focus more on the fostering right love between each other. Therefore, holding solid connections with your family members also can help you to elevate your spirit morally when you are upset or disappointed about your life.

By the points mentioned above, I am pretty convinced that there are many tangible reasons to support the statement that extended family is no more have great importance for people because people today have more control over their financial problems, and also they move to other cities for a better life. Nonetheless, for morally supportive reasons, they need to have contacts with their family members.