TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Not surprisingly, the most conspicuous trend in the 20th century is population mobility. As current society has undergone lots of advances in different aspects of lives, there is perception that family extension has paled its significance compared to the previous generations. While I believe it cannot generalized to all cases, I tend to agree on such a view based on the following concerns.

Firstly, it should be noted that people's lifestyle has changed drastically over the last decades. In fact, some implications such as increased rate of unemployment or geographic catastrophe like flood and earthquake have caused people to leave their motherlands in hope to find a better habitat. In the past, for example, since families' economic had strong dependence on its members, they were regarded as laborers to work in farms corporately. However, with the advent of technology especially in industrial terms, most employers have caught the rural resident's eyes to follow their own personal life without being dependent on their own families. Hence, living solely has become more common among people.

In addition, thanks to invention of high-tech facilitator's, most people have shown a tendency to pursue more convenient or take less responsibility. In the past, the members of extended family had to be responsible for onerous and difficult responsibilities like taking care of other little siblings. However, this situation has been subjected to the considerable changes as they soon have realized that living in contracted family is much easier. For example, one with only the responsibility of a child is concerned much less compared to multiple child-care.

On the other hand, if family extension remained as an essential part of social infrastructure, some problem would spontaneously be solved. Those full-time employees with childcare responsibility have to take their children to kindergarten, but if they live with their grandparents or aunts, family's norms can better be taught. Furthermore, self-dependent way of life has brought loneliness and depression. Meanwhile living in extended family is known as the most effective way to these problems.

From what have been discussed, people have less inclination to be in large families. As it was mentioned, development in industrial aspect of life and change in the way of family income support this trend. Nonetheless, large family has its own redeeming feature.