TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of marketing, there has been an increase in the use of advertising to introduce and show the products to customers. With this in mind, a controversy exists on whether the advertisements bring about products appear better than their reality or not. Some people believe that advertisements do nothing but providing some real information about products for customers, while others hold this view that most advertisements provide an unreality information about products and cause products seem better than they really are. I, personally, agree that the advertisements result in an incorrect information about products and cause them seem better than reality and provide some reason to support my point of view, Two of which will be illustrated in the following paragraphs.

The first reason why I agree that advertisement result in products seems better than reality is that the one on of the most important feature of advertising is marketing, attracting more customers, therefore, this principle uses a wide variety of methods to make products seem luxurious to customers. The more luxurious the product, the more increase in their sell. Such an example, last year my family and I were going to buy a new television for our home. Consequently, we watched a lot of advertisement and also read some useful catalog in order to achieve some information about a proper television in terms of price, quality to name but a few. Finally, all my family reached an agreement to buy a television which was seemed appropriate for us. after buying this television, we found that all the advertisement that we had watched were nothing but exaggerating. They exaggerated the products particularly this television. As a result, if the company had not advertised this television in that way, we would not have bought the television.

The second reason that should be mentioned in supporting my view that advertisement exaggerated products are that today's world is a competitive world in all fields and marketing is not an exception. Companies use advertising in an exaggerated way to win this competition and advocate more bazaar to themselves. The more you be successful in competition, the better would be your future. I am now working on the strategies using by companies to overcome any obstacles in terms of the rival company they use advertisement to reach their goal. One renowned company in my country which has a lot of income and sells a lot of its product and wins this tough competition using this way of advertising, exaggerating the products.

All in all, by taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, it is concluded that most advertisements make products seem much better because not only does company want to attract more customer, but they are much more eager to win the competition from other company.