TPO 18- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate whether students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. In my humble opinion, I believe that friends are the most influential person in ones lives. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, friendship in essential in every human race. There is a saying that "No man can live on an island alone" and it is impossible to be happy without the help of our friends. Peers can easily influence the minds of their buddy because they spend most of their time together at school and bonding right after class. Majority of their time are spend with close friends rather than other people. For instance, my best friend in high school can greatly influence me with my decisions in life because she understands me well and know what I want. Having to deal with hard choices of life, I know my friend can clear my mind and help me decide which path to take. My friend influenced me to study well, because she herself excelled well in academic classes. As a result, we graduated with honors in high school and we surround ourselves with positive people who can uplift us to be a good individual. I believe that in order to influence other people, you must set a good example for others.

Secondly, teachers also can influence students but it has weak impact for myself. In addition, teachers at my time just taught us the curriculum and subjects we need to learn. I don't feel that they influence me to be better individual growing up. For example, my physics teacher on high school don't motive students who are far behind the subject. In fact, his style of teaching was more on letting students stand on their sit if they cannot correctly answer the questions. I think that has negative impact for students because instead of working hard for the subject they are failing they will not strive hard to excel because they feel that they are the weakest link in the class and they are not smart enough. In fact, when students failed on his exam the professor will call the names of students who get low grades and they sill stand in front of the class and telling the scores they got, so it is very humiliating for the students who failed the quiz. Their self esteem and confidence will be shattered because of this approach. To sum, professors only did their job to teach students and they don't have any effect on students to influence them to exceed in their future.

To summarize, I believe that people close to you are more influential. This is because friends can influence you deeply due to they know you better and share the same passion with each other.