TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a vast part of people adhere to the idea that pupils are more effected by their educators than by their friends. Although some people may not agree with the stance, I profoundly buttress it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, teachers are professionals who were taught how to control and impact on children. All educators who work with students were taught in colleges and universities how to do their job properly. Their education programs had such subjects as developmental psychology, sociology, child psychology which are intentionally included in the programs in order to provide future teachers with efficient and professional tools of influence students without which they will not be able to do their job properly.

Secondly, school educators are adults who by default placed at a dominant position. The majority of students enroll in an elementary school at an early age of 6 -7 years. At this age children have a deep necessity in parents' attention and teachers basically substitute parents for pupils. In fact, it is natural for youngsters to obey and respect grown-ups because they badly depend on their good will. For instance, a child cannot acquire food, clothes and cannot secure safety. Educators who have this dominant position may relatively easy impact on their students. Additionally to it, teachers may use the system of reward which is inbuilt in school life: by scoring child's performance, a teacher may exercise one's influence.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which allow someone to state that classmates and friends have stronger influence on students. Chiefly, the one may aver that friends may impact on other fellow students because of informal relationships among them and group dynamic. However, I still strongly affirm that teachers have more influence on their pupils because in many cases teachers have informal relationships with their listeners as well and often students seek their advice and support. In other words, a power of any classmate fells short in comparison with power of teachers who rely on education system, their life experience and professional knowledge.

To wrap up, teachers have influenced their student more strongly because they are grown-ups with professional knowledge, expertise and life-experience. Additionally to it, the system of education itself provides them with all needed means which may be efficiently employed to exercise power and influence on pupils.