TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task

Humans can lead their life only one time, so it is understandable that they want to be successful. The way how to be a successful person is being discussed, but in my opinion, I agree with the statement that we should try something new and take risks in order to be successful for the following reasons.

To begin with, trying new things is a good way to broaden one's horizons. We are more likely to get opportunities with wider views. For example, when my father was a university student, he majored civil engineering. One day, the competition to make a new plan for the route of the school bus was held and he attended it. In order to think about a new plan, he read a lot of books on economics, which was challenging for him because that was his first time studying economics. Thanks to this experience, after graduation, he succeeded in making new service and it was used by many people.

Moreover, we are likely to gain much money by trying something new that nobody has tried. If there are no competitors, the cost for service can be determined without constraints. Let me introduce an example to follow this point. In a history class I took at my high school, my teacher taught the history of Toshio Sato, who was the first person in Japan to sell umbrellas. His umbrellas were very useful and because no one sold ones then, he can sell them at high cost. As a result, he gained a lot of profits. This example clearly illustrates the importance to try new things.

As I stated above, trying new things enables us to expand our scope and earn money. Therefore, I strongly stand by my point that trying new things is a good way to be successful.