TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s societies, the question of whether teachers must prevent themselves from showing their political or social opinions to their students has become a controversial issue among people in many circles and camps. Different people have various types of responses to this topic based on their cultural, social, or even familial backgrounds. However, as far as I’m concerned, I believe that teacher should hides their points of view in social and political subject for some reasons that I elaborate them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing immediately comes to mind is that students are easily influenced by their teachers. In fact, teachers are the heroes of their students. Accordingly, whatever teachers says in any field, their student thinks that it is completely true and they tried do follow it. Therefore, the students maybe enter into the wrong way that won’t have any return. Let’s make a brief explanation about that. Based on the researchers which was published in the well-known journals, scientist found out that the students who are in a range of seven to fifteen are affected by their teachers even more than their parents. Hence, the wrong guide from the teachers can cause a lot of damage in their students life.

Another noteworthy thing that should be mentioned is that when teachers often talk about their view point, the student was engaged on that. So, students restrict themselves to their teacher’s opinion and don’t seek for diverse viewpoint. Consequently, they lost their chance to become familiar to different points of view that can be more suitable to their characteristics. Let me shed a light of my point. According to the survey that was conducted in the Tehran University, most of the students state that they follow their teachers view point in a social and political issues. Hence, by hiding their opinion, teachers give an opportunity to their student to freely choose their path.

In conclusion, there are a plenty of reasons to show that teacher should not states their political opinions in the class. Not only they may guide their student to the wrong way but also they give their student’s chance in opting freely among miscellaneous viewpoints. Hence, it’s essential that teachers hide their tendencies in social and political subjects.