TPO 22 – task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Learning is one of the crucial part of our life in today's society and most of the learning occures in the education centers like schools. And who has the most important role in the education system? the teachers. While some people believe that teachers should only teach the learning materials and don't show their personal political or social beliefes, others disagree. Persoanlly, I think that restricting teachers in their duties isn't good and they should have the freedom to express their opnions. In the following paragraphs my two imperative resaons will be discussed.

To begine with, teachers job isn't only to teach books' materials, in fact their most imprtant duty is to prepare the students for real life. In ordinary life, you can't escape from society or politics, it's every where and impacts every thing. So if teachers want to make srtudents ready for real life they have to discuss about politics and society. As an illustration, when I was a student in highschool we had a socialogy teacher who always loved to talk about community and politics. Every section he started his talk with latest political issues in the society, and explain them profoundly to the students. In fact by this manner he wanted to teach us that politics are not separate from our life but it's one the most imortant part of it. I remeber that his opnions about election influenced me a lot and even I selected my favorate presidental canidadate according his ideas. As clearly you can see talking about politics and society is crucial for preparing students for real life.

Additionaly, some of the lessons are a part of politics and socialogy and teacher can't teach them without debating and representing his/her opinion about it. Many of law major in university or sociology deal with politics and society directely and professor have to show his/her views. For example, in the university I had a sociology course in the second semester. The cours was about history of Iran society in the last four decades, and it was full of uncertainity. Our professor had a good trick to teach this course, whenever the students were silent and didn't argue with each other, he represented his opinion about the topic and this strikes the students to talk with each other and learn the lesson better. In fact he had to do this, if he didn't say his views the lecture would be boring and the students couldn't learn topic very well. Therefore, in some lectuers teacher have to represent his/her own idea to teach better.

To sum up, although many people condemn the political debates in the class and believe that teachers have to just teach and don't show their personal views, I believe otherwise. Not only talking about personl ideas in teaching makes the students ready for real life, but also in some lessons it increases the quality of teaching. So showing personal opnions by teachers isn't bad and shouldn't be prevented.