TPO 25 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, youngsters as an important part of each community have been expected to devote sufficient time to the improvement of their society. A controversial question, which is often raised in this regard is that whether youths nowadays do not give enough time to assisting their communities in comparison to the past. While some people are inclined towards the idea that the commitment of young people to improving their community reduce significantly in recent decades, others, on the other hand, are against this point of view. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that nowadays, youngsters do not give enough contribution to their communities. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that in today's hectic life, young people lead a busy life compared to the past which prevents them to allocate sufficient time for the betterment of their communities. In contrast to the past, young people have countless responsibilities that need to be fulfilled, it has taken a large amount of their daily time. They are busy with their education, career, and other burdens of life. Therefore, this has a negative influence on their contribution to their communities. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year I enthusiastically enrolled in volunteering in training homeless people about hygiene, however, due to the backbreaking tasks at work I was obliged to cancel this important contribution.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that technology has penetrated every facet of people including youngsters. After a long day of work and study, they generally prefer to spend their leisure time surfing the web and using social media. As scientifically proven, using the Internet is addictive, as a result, in spare time the first option coming to their mind to spend their time is using the Internet and its attractive program rather than participating in activities for improvement of their community.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, it is undeniable fact that young people do not tend to dedicate their time to community service. The first reason behind this tendency is the hustle and bustle of daily life which takes a considerable amount of their time. Moreover, using the Internet for free time is a barrier to their contribution to their community.