TPO-26

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The upbringing of children is always a controversial subject as parents always concerned about it. Choosing the same career as a parent is very common- but not necessarily a good idea. Although some people think that if kids choose the same profession as their parent's, they can guide them through it, I personally believe it is not an ideal choice. I have three rationales for the support of this claim, which I elaborate upon hereunder.

To begin with, if parents hammer their profession to their children, it may indulge their inborn talents and perspectives. In addition, they can't be independent or self-reliant if parents spoon-feed them and insisting on them to follow their job. My sister's life is a compelling example on this. She had an inborn talent for singing which she wanted to choose as her career. She used to sing in the church choir and in concerts conducted by her school. My father was rebellious about her participation in these competitions because he wants her to choose his profession- An attorney. As a result, she leaves her passionate talent and joined in the law school in accordance with my father's will. Presently she had a miserable time in her school and she regrets her singing life. From this instance, it is clear that how much negative effect in the inborn talents if parents pressurize their children to take their careers.

Next, the 'Mini-Me' concept of parents can torcher children's mental health. Moreover, this can ruin their physical as well as social health. In other words, if parents compel their kids to choose their profession, it can deteriorate healthy relationships between family and society as well. Children tend to be anti-social and hurt themselves physically and mentally. My life is ample proof of this particular claim. As I mentioned in the above example, my father's immense pressure to be an advocate ruins my mental status. He had explained the details of his criminal and civil cases that he attends in our family discussions, which I was least eager to hear. His constant faith in me raised my blood pressure and I was hospitalized for the same. The doctor suggested my parents to stop insisting me to choose the same career. Eventually, I decided to move away from my family and I followed my dream as a doctor. This can precisely show a change in mental, social, and physical health after a continuum of torchering from parents regarding career.

Finally, parents want to raise their children as their juniors. A doctor wants their son/ daughter to be a doctor. Even if they know the pros and cons of the profession, they still argue them to choose the same profession. This concept should be changed.

All in all, by taking all the reasons into account, I vehemently assure that choosing the same profession as their parents is a worse idea. Not only this can interrupt their talents and dreams but also it can interfere with the social, physical, and mental status of children.