TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is a fundamental right for everyone and a key to the success of a country. The importance of education has been increased the attention of governments toward investment more effectively on schools and universities. Some proponents believe that increasing the salary of university professors is a prominent way to improve the quality of education. It seems to me that increasing the salaries is a good way to progress the quality of education. I feel this way for two reason which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the financial support of professors increase their motivation to work better because, they can understand that their efforts are evaluated fairly. Sufficient income persuade them to concentrate much more on academic subjects rather than engage on other activities. In fact, high income keep professors at university because they do not need other source of financial aid to have a better life. Thus, students can be educated with high quality. Take, for instance, when universities encourage professors and students by providing financial support to publish scientific articles, they consider that there is a guarantee for their pitfalls and follow the academic purposes much more strong. On the other hand, if professors do not get enough salary, they will not work efficiently in the universities and students are more vulnerable to the situation because of low quality of education.

The second reason why I advocate this point of view lies in the fact that, some students are interested in becoming a professor in the future because of several reasons including their high social status. The low salary does not persuade them to be a professor; as a result, the less interested and qualified people become professors. To put it another way It is conspicuous that for many of people the salary plays a prominent role on choosing a job while others believe they should follow their interests even if, it does not provide a sufficient financial support for their life. When a specific job has more ideal options the more competition would be to achieve it. As a result, the more adept and proficient people could achieve the job.

Having discussed the issue from that point of view I would rather to look at it from another perspective as well. It is true that besides spending more money on salaries, universities can invest on other parts like providing advanced laboratories and libraries to improve the quality of education.

By taking all above mentioned arguments into consideration the following conclusion can be drawn about the issue. I completely agree that the increase of salaries could be a potential way to improve the quality of education. By this way, professors become more incentive and industrious in order to prepare students for their future career and life