TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While some proponents believe that today's teachers are not valued by the society as they were appreciated in the past, others repudiate this claim. In my point of view, the value of teachers is not decreased. I feel this way for two reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, a country improves gradually not over a night and the success of a country depends upon its investments for citizens. There is a widespread agreement among countries that education plays a substantial role in the success of a country. In other words, countries try to boost their education system by investing in many sectors including improving the quality of schools, universities, and increasing the income of teachers and professors. The attention of government toward teachers by raising the salary of teachers not only improves teacher's motivation and creativity but also enhance their social status in the society. Furthermore, the high attention of governments towards the salary of teachers has encouraged adults in order to be a teacher. Only when the governments and society pay attention to the demands of teachers, there would be more qualified teachers in the society. As a result, because of the awareness of governments and countries today's teachers are more appreciated.

The second reason why I have this point of view is due to the fact that nowadays parents are much more involved in their children's education. The growth of technology and high standards of living that is accomplished by technology advancements lead parents to take part in their kid's decisions about their academic life. To put it another way, the increased involvement of parents and their communication with teachers has boosted the role of the teachers in the society because parents always are in search of new ways to encourage their children to study well and this purpose is achieved by finding valuable teachers. Moreover, because of the variety of majors, interests, and a large number of educators the competition among teachers has been increased to attract more students.

The main conclusion that can be drawn from the mentioned arguments is that teachers are still respectful because of several reasons including the improvement of technology, the involvement of parents in the education process of students, and the great attention of governments towards education, to name but a few.