TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

The advent of technology has influenced the human's life in many sectors including communication, education and way of living, to name but a few. In my point of view, children today allocate most of their time on social media, cell phones and games; thus, they face difficulties in learning process. I feel this way for two reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, no one can deny the appealing feature of cell phones, online games and social media towards children and teenagers. It is conspicuous that children have a penchant to spend more time for using them because not only they are attractive for them but also they are a good entertainment if they are harnessed in an acceptable way. The problem is that children are not mature enough to distinguish their demerits and bad effects on their education and health. Studies have showed that the addiction to cell phones has been introduced as a mental disease among the children. Consequently, when children allocate much time to play games and surf the net their eyes and brain become tired. In other words, their mind become full of unnecessary information that prevent them from concentrating well on the subjects. In fact, a good study needs an active brain not a tired one.

The second reason why I feel this way is that there are a lot of unemployed and uneducated people in the social networking web sites who mislead the children. To put it another way, children are much more vulnerable to misleading ideas and movements. When they spend more time on social media they become influenced and sometimes they lose their purpose. As a result, the importance of studying and education is decreased in their view and they find unnecessary alternatives.

Another perspective which I want to look at it as well is that among all the mentioned demerits of cell phones it is worth to say that these devices can be used in a beneficial way to encourage children to study better. It is to me that parents should manage the schedule of children and prevent them from allocating too much time on social media and cell phones.

The main conclusion that can be drawn from the mentioned arguments is that social media, games and cell phones have decreased the children's ability to learn and study better by reducing their energy and concentration because of the time that is allocated to these tasks.