Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

One of the most challenging question in human's life is attributed to the actual source of happiness. There are various definition for happiness which are presented by people because of diverse perspective they have. Some proponents believe that people in the past were happier. In my point of view, today people are less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. I feel this way for two reasons which are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is conspicuous that technology has improved the standards of living; on the other hand, it has isolated people because they are in hurry most of the time and do not have enough time to share with their family members and friends. In the past most of the people were in touch with their family members and friends frequently; moreover, families were extended. Thus the lack of communication cause some unpredictable problems such as the lack of happiness. Nowadays people spend most of their time to obtain much more money to have a better life and support their families. Furthermore, today's children are alone and share their time with devices like laptop and cellphones. These technological advancements lead children to be alone and not to be able to have friends and make valuable friendships.

The second reason why I have this point of view is related to increased importance of money. In my opinion, these progressed devices and large amount of money that enables people to buy anything they like provide short-term happiness. The true happiness is not obtained by having material possessions; it seems to me that, making other people happy by helping them and sharing more time with people we love are the main source of happiness.

Another perspective that I want to look at it as well is that the change of the world and technology advancements lead people to have a comfortable life and to have more opportunities in order to be happy including the ease of traveling to distant areas, accessibility to a huge amount of information through the internet, to name but a few.

The main conclusion that can be drawn from the all mentioned arguments is that, the change of the world provide not only valuable choices to make life happier and easier but also make people alone and isolated. In other words, the sources of happiness that are provided by advent of technology are short-term ones.