TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For decades, teachers have always been of great value to the growth of any society. They have contributed tremendously to the growth of abled knowledgeable citizens of a society. Although some people may argue that universities should not spend money on salaries of their professors, I, for one definitely disagrees with this opinion.

To begin with, professors are the backbone of any university and create an opportunity for a university to be recognized. Professors are highly educated people who impacts great knowledge to students. They educate and teach students how to become best in any field of study. Needless to say, not only do they teach students, they are also good counsellors. They encourage us in times of when the going gets tough in our academic life and supportively sees that we overcome those difficult moments. For instance, a university with a great number of highly reputable and intelligent professors will definitely become one of the best schools in the country and this obviously will draw tens of thousands of candidates seeking for admission in such institutions. Moreover, this generates a considerable amount of money for the university. Therefore, it is unreasonable that the salaries of professors should be debated .

In addition, professors should be appreciated for their great work. I absolutely believe that to whom much is given much is expected. If professors can be remunerated by paying them a substantial amount of salary, it will encourage them to be on track always and to deliver their best in educating the students. Appreciation of efforts instill in them the urge to carry out some great research works that will not only benefit them but also the university as a whole. This ultimately will have a positive impact on students as more knowledge will be gained and better ways to educate the students will be attained.

In summary, it is irrefutable to dismiss the idea that universities spending money on the salaries of professors will not be beneficial to the university, as the professors are the engine of schools and therefore their great works should be appreciated.