TPO 29:

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Enhancing learning process and educational activities are of the most important issue each government face. There are plenty of solutions to meet these objectives. One of the controversial methods is increasing the professors' salary. Personally, I subscribe the idea since this method can motivate professor to enhance their teaching methods; what is more, it makes professor avoid pursuing a casual job in order to meet financial needs. In what follows, an in-depth discussion on each of the above-mentioned reasons is presented.

The first reason why I believe that universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors to improve the quality of education is that a well-paid teaching position like a university professor results in a personal motivation in the professor to pay more attention to her or his teaching techniques. That is to say that when the professor earns a high salary, the professor tries to present a highly effective teaching in response to increasing the salary by university monetary department. On the other hand, professors feel more committed to the university and students in order to render a better teaching and educational procedure thereby receiving a well-paid salary.

Another significant point which deserves some words here in corroborating my notion is that this way can cause professor avoid undertaking another job. To shed more light on my vantage point, take the following example. When a professor cannot find the salary his or her university pays him or her insufficient to meet the family needs, sometimes some professors try to find another job like a casual or part-time job. In my opinion, this is the worst thing for a university professor that focuses on another job in addition to academic activities. Somehow, having another job distracts her or his mind, which can have a detrimental effect on her or his teaching activities. Giving professors more money make them not to pay attention to another job or finding another way to meet their life requirements and needs.

To sum it all up, by taking all the aforementioned grounds into consideration we may logically draw the conclusion that not only can enhancing university professors' motivation in teaching, but also concentrating their mind in teaching and academic activities be result in increasing university professor's salary. Of course, it should be noted that increasing professors’ salary should be based on the assessing and monitoring their performances.