TPO 30: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Working pattern reflects considerably on one's enjoyability. Whereas some people believe that working five days a week for shorter hours is more enjoyable, others disagree. Honestly, I reckon that working just three days per week is more delightful. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, working only three times a week enables us to have a long time for pleasure. In other words, time professionals spend tremendously commuting to a workplace can be used, instead, with their families, exercising, or even relaxing.

For example, my husband has been working in a work pattern that allows him to work only three days a week for 10 hours daily. He usually spends like two hours back and forth to reach his workplace. Although he takes about half an hour to rest, he still has more than 10 hours to work. He goes three consecutive days that way, following a vacation for the rest of the week. As a result, he used his vacation for pleasure by going to the gym, visiting his parents, and traveling to some recreation sites with children and friends. Had my husband worked daily, he would have never enjoyed himself that way.

Secondly, working long hours also enhances our performance in completing the jobs that give us a sense of self-achievement and pleasing feeling. There is nothing more enjoyable in the world than feeling that we do well in our careers and see the light of appreciation in our employers for doing the job better than they ever expected. My situation is a vivid example; I work for a famous pharmaceutical company in the R and D department. No one can guarantee that I can finish my work in only eight hours, yet having extra two long hours gives me a feeling of comfort to work continually meticulously with extreme diligence for three days. Therefore, I always finish any project flawlessly and on time. My general manager usually praises me, which gives me a paramount sense of joy and happiness. As you can see, it is clear that working long hours for only three days can help us to do well in our fields and enjoy our success.

In sum, working prolonged hours for three days is more enjoyable than working shorter hours every day. Not only does this working style give us more leisure time to enjoy, but it also allows us to achieve our job flawlessly and happily.