TPO 30 - Do you agree or disagree? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Work is an essential part of our lives through which we can get paid and we feed ourselves and our families. We spend most of our time at work thinking about how to make our work and lives better. It is more delightful when we work three days a week for long hours. There are several reasons for this, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the main reason to work 3 days a week for long hours is to spend more time with friends and families. We all are human beings and get tired of working too much. Consequently, we need a break to share happiness and joyful moment with our loved ones. For instance, I work in a hospital as a nurse for almost 3 years. When I come home after 12 hours of shift, I get so exhausted and jump on the bed right away. But the good thing is I get 5 days a week to spend time with my husband, kids, and friends. It makes my life much more enjoyable when I spend time with them because we go shopping, camping and watch movies together. However, if I had worked for 5 days a week, I would have gotten only 2 days to spend time with my family as two days are not enough since there is plenty of work to do at home such as household chores, run errands, cleaning, and many other things. Therefore, I believe 3 days of working make life much easier and entertaining.

Furthermore, there’s a high likelihood that by working 3 days a week, one can focus on their studies and other jobs. It will improve performance and productivity; individuals can get what they may desire. For example, a couple of years ago, my cousin Sarah wanted to do part-time in her fieldwork to gain experience and get familiarized herself with dentistry. As she was working full time in the insurance company, she could not get time to practice her skills in dentistry. Last year, her insurance company changed the policy of working 3 days a week instead of 5 days a week. She was thrilled by the company’s decision and decided to take the initiative with a part-time job at the dentist's office in her days off. On the other hand, my brother was also working in the same insurance company. Instead of wasting his time, he decided to take advanced courses in computer, which he had been thinking for ages but never really got a chance to do. As you see, working 3 days a week allowed them to do something productive in their lives.

To sum up, to make work more enjoyable, one should work 3 days a week for long hours. This is because in this way one can spend more time with their loved ones and give full attention to kids as well. Also, people can focus on other significant tasks.