TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

Many people think that it is more enjoyable to work the regular working week (five days a week) than to work three days for longer hours. They say that the regular working week makes them having more organized week and that they can schedule their activities ahead of time. Although I understand their point of view, I have different opinion. I believe that working for three days is much better because it helps us make life-work balance and it helps decrease our stress.

First, life is not only about the work it also has about family, activities, sociality and some fun. Working all the forty hours in five days makes us have no time to do anything else. For example, I work in a full time job where I have to go to work every day for five consecutive days from eight o’clock in the morning till five o’clock in the evening. After that I have to pick my kids from their after school care and head towards the house. By the time we arrive home we just had our dinner then let them do their homework while I’m doing some house works. The day is gone by that time and their bedtime is here, we don’t have any extra time to do any other thing. We hardly find time to watch TV shows or even having enough family time. We as a family totally depend on the weekend to have some fun and visit our big family. While on contrary, if I work three days a week, we will have more time to do other things. I can pick the kids early directly after the school day ends and I can let them go to some sports classes or I can enjoy my time with them as I will be already done with all my daily house duties. In my opinion the three days’ work schedule will balance our lives in better way.

Second, work usually has a lot of hassles and causes stress; we have to meet deadlines, deal with harsh customers or even deal with super authorized boss. All of this makes us usually under stress. Being under this stress for five days is hard for our neurological system. Nobody can bear this stress smoothly except they have a way to get rid of it. For me having a peaceful time for myself or doing some workout are my ways to release any stress. But working five days a week facing all the job stress then heading home facing other sort of stress from raising the kids or any sort of family stress with no time for any work out or me-time, this will ends collapsing me down. On the other hand, I believe I can tolerate this accumulating stress for three days as long as I will have four more days to release my stress and having some time to deal with other stuff.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I encourage all the employers to apply the three days working program. Why you don’t try this only for one month. If you do so, you will discover that you make a big favor for both yourself as an owner and your company on one side and for the employees on the other side. You will gain big benefits of having unstressed happy employees. This will lead to more production for the work.