TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

In this modern age, technology and science are developing and everything is changing fast. This cause so many changes in the way people live. While some may think people are as happy as they were in the past, I believe people were more gratifying than they are today.

First, people tolerate more stress and pressure. Because technology has developed, the job market needs more skilled labor. So, people need to study more to earn these skills and abilities. For achieving this goal, they have to take many exams which cause stress and pressure. The job market is more competitive than before. Unemployment is one of the major problems for people who have fewer skills. People in the past need fewer skills for making money. Besides, because of changes in technology, jobs change too. As a result, people should consistently develop and improve their abilities according to these changes. This lead to having a stress and pressure to do not lose their job if their employers do not need them anymore.

Second, people have less time for having fun. Because employers want to adapt to changes which occur around them, they ask their employees to work for long hours. As a result, people have less time to pass their time with their family and their friends to have a fun. As well, they have fewer leisure times. By being so, people cannot be able to refresh themselves. The main aspects of their lives are their work. For instance, I am working for a company for six days every week. I have to work overtime too. I only have one day on my weekend. I realize I am less happy than I was when I did not work.

To sum up, I think people today are less satisfying than they were in the past because everything is changing fast. Because they tolerate more stress and have a less leisure time.