TPO 37.Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in a hectic life, where our job consumes the majority of our time. With the increased demands of our jobs, people now tend to handle many tasks at the same time. Some people think that workers are unable to do multi-tasks efficiently; others disagree. In my opinion, multi-tasking will lead to job disasters as people will not perform all the tasks in a professional manner.

To begin with, in order to perform your work in an excellent way, people have to spend much time in every mission. Dividing your time into multiple tasks will lead to less focus on each one. As a result, the workers will end up by having only a few good projects. For example, five years ago, I used to work in an advertising company called ABC. We used to handle the jobs by dividing them between five employees. One day, one of our employees took a day off because he was sick. Consequently, his job is shifted to us which increased the amount of work every one of us has to do. Unfortunately, this project has a time limit, so we had to finish the job within five days. Each of my co-workers has already a myriad of missions to finish during this period. However, with the increased workload we were not able to give every task the time it deserves. As you can imagine, we failed to finish at the required time, which affected our image in front of our client. This experience taught me that increase workload would affect the quality of your job.

In addition, Increased the tasks you handle leave no place to ask if you do not understand something. As you do not have time to waste on trivial things, you may intentionally omit some small details to finish your tasks quickly. However, these small details may affect the quality of your project leaving you with a poorly developed work that requires more concern. This may have a detrimental effect on you and your company. For instance, If an architect has to work in many projects at the same time, some times he may leave some essential details unclear. Such as the width of the windows or the size of the door, or any measurement. Therefore, this egregious act may lead to a tremendous effect on the building the company is working on. As you can see, multi-jobs affect your work causing severe consequences.

To conclude, although some people think that they are able to manage a myriad of tasks at the same time. Personally, I think that in order to keep the quality of our job, we should work on one task at a time. By doing so, we will have enough time to master each task and to avoid the harmful effects of multi-tasking.