Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Playing computer games is a waste of time. children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers?

As life advancing more and more inventions are coming into our word. One of those inventions is computer games. Some people think that computer games benefit children. Personally, I believe that computer games are atrocious to our kids for the reasons I am going to explore in this essay.

To begin with, computer games have a negative effect on our children's health. Sitting in front of a computer screen for a long time will cause damage to the eyes. Children may have a blurred vision as a start, which will develop to an eye weakness and trouble seeing. Moreover, sitting in front of a computer in a bad position will cause back problems. For example, I used to spend five hours working on my laptop while sitting on a chair. As a result, I had severe back pain and a problem in my spinal cord. Therefore, I had to undergo disc surgery a year ago and spend months laying down on the bed. Furthermore, children forget to eat their meals because they focus too much on the games. As a result, they may have anemia because of lack of nutrients. As we can see, computer games may cause serious harm to our kids.

In addition, computer games steal children from precious moments in life. Children in old times used to play outside with each other, which helps in developing favorable social skills. However, nowadays kids spend all their spare time indoor playing these games. Consequently, they gain a lower social interaction with other human beings including their parents. This will lead to myriads psychological problems such as depression and panic. For instance, I read an article about how computer games influence the psychological development of children. The author of the article claims that computer games restrict children development. Furthermore, playing computer games added to increase the rate of depression and some other major psychological problems. More time they spend in front of the computer, more depressed they will be in the future. For this reason, I strongly think that parents should prohibit their children from playing computer games to protect them from major psychological problems.

To conclude, Even though computer games have some advantages such as improving typing skills and other more. However, I believe that their disadvantages outweigh their positivity. Therefore, I recommend to ban computer games or at least put some restrictions on playing them.