Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Personally, I agree that when people are busy doing a lot of things, they do very few things well. I believe that in the modern world, especially with the fast pacing life style, many people often get their hands full and try to multi-task. However "efficient" they may claim it so, in most cases it just proves the other way around. In the following passages, I'll illustrate it by two reasons.

The first reason is that, it is inevitable for people to confuse and get distracted by their diverse works. It can be easily observed in our daily life. Sometimes when we go to a famous restaurant, we would have higher chances getting a wrong dish when there are too many people dining there. Even if they are really experienced workers, they can't avoid this kind of mistakes because they are doing a lot of things in the same time. Another example comes fromm my personal experience. Last month, I needed to submit a lot of final reports for my English Literature and American Literature classes. Since they are basically of the same category of study, for example I needed to remember the author and their works, I ended up mixed the names of the author who both wrote love poetry. From the above example, it is obvious that when people work on too many things at the same time, it's easier for them to get distracted and confused.

Secondly, this way of multi-tasking often leave them with few time to refine their work. Take the above example again. When the restaurant is full of people, the shop owner would want the orders be done as soon as possible. Thus, when we get the meal, we may have a plate of pasta that has fewer decorations than it usually does, and we might get a cup of black tea with the tea stains on the cup. This can also apply to students in the final week. Because of the huge loads of final reports they need to submit, it leads them to have little time perfecting each work. The attempts of refining their work will be subjected to time limits. In the end, they would just submit the rough works. Thus, it is fairly to say that when people are multi-tasking, it get them to the situation of low quality of works.

In conclusion, though some may suggest that doing many things at the same time is an efficient and could help save time. In my point of view, people would just end up messed things up by getting confused from each other. Also, efficiency doesn't equal to high quality.